• Home
  • News
  • Artists Announced for Joshua Tree National Park Art Exposition 2018
July 6, 2018

Artists Announced for Joshua Tree National Park Art Exposition 2018

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)


Fifty-eight artists have been selected to display their artwork in the juried exhibition for the sixth annual Joshua Tree National Park Art Exposition in September in Twentynine Palms, CA. 



On Saturday, June 30, a panel of five jurors met and juried 310 artwork images submitted by 121 artists from across California, the U.S., and abroad. The jury selected 58 artists and art pieces for this year’s show, with artwork depicting or inspired by Joshua Tree National Park or its cultural history. Artwork ranged from oil and acrylic paintings, watercolors, pastels, mixed media, and photography, to several three-dimensional pieces.


Twentynine Palms artists selected are for the show Chuck Caplinger, Elisabeth Pollnow, Mark Spangenberg, and photographers Lisa Manifold and Thien Weslie.


Yucca Valley artists in this year’s exhibition are Hannah Campbell, John Henson, Deane Locke, Dallas Rayburn, Travis Usher, and photographers David Clements, Daniel Lee, Terrence Mayes, and Marjorie Trandem.


Joshua Tree artists include Raini Armstrong, Douglas Blanc, Marcia Geiger, Alane Levinsohn, and photographers Doug Dolde, Marilyn McFarlin, Kathy Miller, Mitch Miller, Kevin Powell, and Jim Smart. 


Morongo Valley artists are Kristin Czech and Tami Wood.


Artists from the low desert are Robert Miramontes of Desert Hot Springs and Larry Hemmerich of Palm Springs.


Other California artists are: Robert Arnett of Glendora (and Twentynine Palms); Jane Culp of Anza; Lee Edwards of Duarte; Eric Fei Guan of Walnut; Michael E. Gordon of Lakewood; Kai Gradert of Emeryville; Paul Gronner of Los Angeles; James Hammons of Sugarloaf; Terry Houseworth of Tustin; Elise Hunt of Laguna Niguel; Caroline PM Jones of Culver City; Kathy Kleinsteiber of San Jose; Lezlie Kussin of Granada Hills; Angel LaCanfora of Torrance; Joan Lamensdorf of Pasadena; Julia Lippincott of San Diego; Chip Morton of Menifee; Brandon O’Neil of No. Hollywood; Miroslav Peric of Sherman Oaks; Karchi Perlmann of Los Angeles; Alana Rios of Oakland; Mark Robben of Rancho Palos Verdes; W Jason Situ of El Monte; Jeff Skelly of Sunland; Kathleen Strukoff of San Juan Capistrano; Donna Todd of Valley Glen; and Brice Weaver of Lakeside.


Out-of-state artists selected were: Chin J. Banham of Las Vegas, Nevada; Lester Blum of New York City; and Naomi Brown of Queen Creek, Arizona.


One piece of art from each of the 58 artists will be displayed in the juried exhibition at the historic 29 Palms Art Gallery from Sept. 1 to 30. The public is invited to a gala awards reception at the gallery on Saturday, Sept. 15, from 5 to 8 p.m. 


The Art Exposition weekend celebration is set for Saturday and Sunday, Sept. 15 & 16, and will include an Art Market with artist booths, music, food and beverages on the lawn at 29 Palms Inn; art demonstrations and the exhibition at 29 Palms Art Gallery; an art project at 29 Palms Creative Center; ranger talks at the park’s Oasis Visitor Center; nature walks at the Oasis of Mara; and other activities throughout the weekend. All events are admission free.


Jurors for the juried exhibition, working with facilitator John Cole and artist liaison Vickie Waite, were: Artist and art instructor Penelope Benson-Wright of 29 Palms; artist Bobby Furst of Furstworld in Joshua Tree; artist and collector Paul Hogan of Yucca Valley; photographer and cinematographer Casey Kiernan of Joshua Tree Workshops and Timelapse Film Festival; and Michael McCall of Yucca Valley Visual & Performing Arts Center.


The annual Joshua Tree National Park Art Exposition is presented by Joshua Tree National Park Council for the Arts, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, in partnership with 29 Palms Art Gallery, 29 Palms Inn, 29 Palms Creative Center, and Joshua Tree National Park. For more information about the event, visit www.jtnpARTS.org.


# # #



Media contact: Vickie Waite, 760-217-8839, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


PHOTO: Jurors for the 2018 juried exhibition were (left to right): Bobby Furst, Michael McCall, Casey Kiernan, Penelope Benson-Wright, and Paul Hogan.

Additional Info

  • Website URL: http://
Login to post comments






Arts Patrons




Drs. Ernie and Dotti Garcia


Arts Sustainers







Arts Advocates

Chaffey Community Museum of Art



Arts Friends

The Arts Area

Morongo Basin Cultural Arts Council

Chaffey College: School of Visual and Performing Arts




The Garcia Center for the Arts
536 W. 11th Street
San Bernardino, CA 92410

Tel: 909.381.1900

mailing address:

5500 University Parkway
Visual Arts Building, Rm. 308
San Bernardino, CA 92407

Stay Connected

Support the Arts, Donate Now